Founded in 1856, Shiloh’s first home was a schoolhouse cabin located near today’s church site. The current sanctuary was constructed in 1881, and the original cabin was rolled across the road on logs to continue as a school for the Burwell community. A steeple was added to the church in 1905, and in 1932, the men of the church cut logs and sawed lumber to add Sunday school rooms to the original building. A major facelift in 1947-48 added stained glass windows, new hardwood floors, new pews and chimes. During Shiloh’s Centennial year in 1956, more Sunday school rooms, a chapel, and a social hall were added. In 1974, as a tribute to the church’s rich heritage and Georgian Colonial style architecture, the administrative council voted to preserve the sanctuary’s original hand-dressed wooden weatherboard, as long as structurally possible. In 2011, the sanctuary was renovated. The pews, bought in 1947, and part of the original hardwoods were refinished. Columns were added to the choir area, and new lighting was installed.